We've made some important changes to our Privacy and Cookies Policy and we want you to know what this means for you and your data.


IALA Buoyage Systems

The International Association of Lighthouse Authorities (IALA) that standardised the world's navigational buoys into two systems

Test Summary

  • 153 Tests Taken
  • 85% Average Score
Take Test

The IALA buoyage systems were created in 1979 by the International Association of Lighthouse Authorities (IALA) to unify the worlds navigational buoys. While predominately successful, there are still 2 buoyage systems used throughout the world, system A and system B. All the buoys are the same in the 2 systems apart from Lateral buoys and Preferred Channel buoys, which use opposite colours between the two buoyage systems.

IALA Buoyage Systems Map

IALA Buoyage System A

Used in the majority of the world including Europe, Africa, Australia and most of Asia. Here's a list of some noticable countries that use the IALA System A.

United Kingdom United Kingdom
Spain Spain
Australia Australia
France France
South Africa South Africa
Greece Greece
Seychelles Seychelles
Thailand Thailand
Cape Verde Cape Verde
Croatia Croatia
New Zealand New Zealand
Egypt Egypt

IALA Buoyage System B

Used in the Americas, South Korea, Japan, the Philippines and the eastern Pacific.

United States of America United States of America
Canada Canada
Japan Japan
South Korea South Korea
Paraguay Paraguay
Argentina Argentina
Brazil Brazil
Philippines Philippines
British Virgin Islands British Virgin Islands
Grenada Grenada
Ecuador Ecuador
Mexico Mexico